Published: April 23, 2013

Two IWH senior scientists awarded medal

Two senior scientists at the Institute for Work & Health (IWH), Dr. Claire Bombardier and Dr. Monique Gignac, have been awarded the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal. Bestowed by The Arthritis Society, the medal acknowledges their commitment to advancing the state of arthritis diagnosis, care and prevention. The letter to the IWH scientists recognizes that their hard work “gives us hope that we will one day see a future without arthritis.”

Syme Fellowship opportunity now open

IWH is now accepting applications for the S. Leonard Syme Training Fellowships in Work and Health. Two fellowships are available: one for $15,000 and the other for $5,000. These fellowships are for young researchers at the master’s or doctoral level intending to study work and health. All documents must be received by IWH by May 31, 2013. For information, go to:

Disability handbook features IWH authors

IWH scientists figure prominently in the just-released Handbook of Work Disability, published this year by Springer. Five IWH scientists wrote or co-wrote book chapters:

  • Dr. Emile Tompa wrote the chapter “Measuring the burden of work disability”;
  • Dr. Sheilah Hogg-Johnson and Dr. Ellen MacEachen co-authored the chapter “Methodological issues in work disability prevention research”;
  • Dr. Vicki Kristman contributed to the chapter “Workplace issues”;
  • MacEachen wrote the chapter “Understanding work disability systems and intervening upstream”; and
  • Dr. Ivan Steenstra and Hogg-Johnson co-wrote, along with former IWH Scientist Dr. Jason Busse, “Predicting return to work for workers with low-back pain.”

For information, go to:

IWH welcomes new SAC members

Three new members have joined the Institute’s Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC). They include:

  • Dr. Andrew Hale, professor emeritus of safety science at the Delft University of Technology in Delft, The Netherlands;
  • Dr. Maurits Van Tulder, a professor of health technology assessment in the Department of Health Sciences at VU University Medical Center in Amsterdam, The Netherlands; and
  • Dr. Thomas Wickizer, the Stephen F. Loebs professor in the School of Health Management and Policy at Ohio State University in Columbus, Ohio, U.S.A.

For the full list of SAC members, go to: